A Life Uncommon

I started attending Shiloh Spiritual Center, located in San Diego, last month. (I still attend my monthly Reiki Shares). Shiloh’s Vision Statement: See differently and Live Profoundly. Mission Statement: Share the Truth, Shine the Light and Show Compassion. SSC practices Science of Mind, a spiritual perspective that is a correlation of the laws of science (quantum physics), the opinions of philosophy and the revelations of religion applied to human issues, needs and aspirations. Shiloh has a Native American ambiance that I am very drawn to.

I want to share with you the message from our last service, August 5th, A Life Uncommon. This message was delivered by Rev. Roxie Hart, DD.

Look within yourself and not externally for happiness, love, money or any thing else you desire. Open your mind and your heart. Ambition is looking for external sources. Motivation is looking internally. Give up attachment to material things like cars, computers, phones, etc. This does not mean you have to live without these things. It simply means do not spend all of your time occupied with these things instead of your spiritual self, your true self. How much time do you spend thinking about your car, playing games on your cell phone or computer? How much time do you spend meditating or just “being”?

Overcome fear. All things are possible with God, or whatever you call your Divine Source. The universe knows of your desires and needs. You do not need to fear anything, no matter what it is. The “me” perspective separates you (from the universe). You and the universe (God) are of one mind. Shift your perspective, your thought pattern. Your thoughts and words are very powerful and create your reality. Have you heard the expression, be careful what you wish for?

Living compassionately is self-serving preservation. In other words when you hear the baby or child crying in the store; instead of feeling aggravated, feel compassion for the mother who has her hands full.

TAKE CHARGE OF YOUR MIND

Affirmation: I choose to live as the Divine Self.

Points to Consider:

—I release my attachment to everything-living in this world of experience without needing to possess anything, yet having and enjoying everything.

—I invite wisdom and courage to always practice compassion.

English: Jewel 2008-06-05

We listened to Life Uncommon by Jewel

“Life Uncommon”

Don’t worry mother, it’ll be alright
And don’t worry sister, say your prayers and sleep right
It’ll be fine lover of mine
It’ll be just fine
Lend your voices only to sounds of freedom
No longer lend you strength to that which you wish to be free from
Fill your lives with love and bravery
And you shall lead a live uncommon
I’ve heard you anguish
I’ve heard you hearts cry out
We are tired, we are weary, but we aren’t worn out
set down you chains, until only faith remains
Set down you chains
And lend your voices only to sounds of freedom
No longer lent your strength to that
which you wish to be free from
Fill you lives with love and bravery
And we shall lead a life uncommon
There are plenty of people who pray for peace
But if praying were enough it would have come to be
Let your words enslave no one and the heavens will hush themselves
To hear out voices ring out clear
with sounds of freedom
sounds of freedom
Come on you unbelievers, move out of the way
there is a new army coming and we are armed with faith
To live, we must give
To live
And lend out voices only to sounds of freedom
No longer lend out strength to that which we with to be free from
Fill your lives with love and bravery
And we shall lead…
Lend out voices only to sounds of freedom
No longer lent out strength to that which we with to be free from
Fill you lives with love and bravery
And we shall lead a life uncommon

English: Melissa Etheridge at a ceremony to re...

We also listened to I Need to Wake Up by Melissa Etheridge

Have I been sleeping
I’ve been so still
Afraid of crumbling
Have I been careless?
Dismissing all the distant rumblings
Take me where I am supposed to be
To comprehend the things that I can’t seeCause I need to move
I need to wake up
I need to change
I need to shake up
I need to speak out
Something’s got to break up
I’ve been asleep
And I need to wake up
NowAnd as a child
I danced like it was 1999
My dreams were wild
The promise of this new world
Would be mine
Now I am throwing off the carelessness of youth
To listen to an inconvenient truthThat I need to move
I need to wake up
I need to change
I need to shake up
I need to speak out
Something’s got to break up
I’ve been asleep
And I need to wake up
Now

I am not an island
I am not alone
I am my intentions
Trapped here in this flesh and bone

Oh I need to move
I need to wake up
I need to change
I need to shake up
I need to speak out
Something’s got to break up
I’ve been asleep
And I need to wake up
Now

I want to change
I need to shake up
I need to speak out
Oh, Something’s got to break up
I’ve been asleep
And I need to wake up
Now

What's on Your Mind

