Nakshatras: The Lunar Zodiac

Through the Peacock's Eyes

images Solar and Lunar Zodiacs

When we think about astrology, most of us will immediately think about the twelve signs of the zodiac: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. When we say someone is an Aries, for example, that means they were born when the Sun was in Aries, either the month-long period of time after the Vernal Equinox (Western Astrology) or the period when the Sun is passing through the constellation of Aries (Vedic Astrology). However, in Vedic Astrology one is often labelled by their Ascendant sign, and in this case someone would be called an Aries when at the moment of birth the constellation Aries was rising on the eastern horizon. The Ascendant, Sun, and Moon placements among the twelve signs of the zodiac are very important in our birth charts, but in Vedic Astrology there is another system of…

View original post 573 more words


What's on Your Mind

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s