HOW TO FIND YOUR ANIMAL TOTEM

I have been drawn to Native American culture and art for over 10 years. Not until I started practicing Reiki, did I understand the meaning of this, my Spirit was calling me to learn and pay attention. Then I became interested in dog rescue and was a foster dog mom for 4 years, and then interested in animal totems/animal medicine or power of animals. I am very interested in the welfare of ALL animals. I have the book by Ted Andrews, “Animal Speak” that was given to me by a friend last summer. Lately, I have been really drawn to study more about power animals and animal medicine. My power animal is the wolf, dog in domestic form. I have always been drawn to wolves. And lately discovered another power animal for me is the bear.

Earth DNA

HOW TO FIND YOUR ANIMAL TOTEM

What is an Animal Totem?

The phrase “animal totem” literally means a symbolic representation of your animal guide; such as a crest, a totem pole, an emblem, a small figurine, or anything else that depicts your animal guide. A totem could be symbolic for a whole tribe, clan or family – or just an individual. However, the phrase “animal totem” also means “animal guide”, receiving spiritual assistance from an animal.

Shamans throughout the world have relied on the guidance and wisdom of spirit animals for thousands of years. Totems have been used in shamanistic practice as far back as human history stretches, it is one of the oldest forms of magick in the world. Hunters would paint the form of their prey on walls during ceremonies to bless the coming hunt with good fortune, and to acknowledge, bless and thank the spirit of the…

View original post 2,885 more words

What's on Your Mind

