The concept of chakra originates in Hindu texts and features in tantric and yogic traditions of Hinduism and Buddhism. The word ‘chakra’ is derived from a Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’. Each chakra in the body is recognized as a focal point for life-force relating to spiritual, physical, emotional, and mental energies. The chakras are the network through which the mind, body, and spirit endocrine glands interact as one system. The seven major chakras, many more minor chakras, correspond to specific aspects of our consciousness and have their own individual characteristics and functions. Each has a corresponding relationship to one of the of the body’s system, the seven colors of the rainbow spectrum, element, body location, sensory function and flower.

1stChakra~Root Chakra

Muladhara chakra is shown as having four petal...

Color: Red

Element: Earth

Location: Base of Spine

Sensory Function: Smell

Endocrine Gland: Adrenals

Corresponding Flower: Indian Paintbrush

Sanskrit Name: Muladhara-support or foundation

2ndChakra~Splenic or Sacral Chakra

Swadhisthana chakra is shown as having six pet...Color: Orange

Element: Water

Location: Lower abdomen, sacral plexus

Sensory Function: Taste

Endocrine Gland: Gonad

Corresponding Flower: Pomegranite

Sanskrit Name: Svadhisthana-abode of the vital force or dwelling place of the self

3rdChakra~Solar Plexus Chakra

Manipura chakra

Color: Yellow

Element: Fire

Location: Solar plexus, stomach

Sensory Function: Sight

Endocrine Gland: Pancreas

Corresponding Flower: Sunflower

Sanskrit Name: Manipura-jewel of the lotus or the city of gems

4thChakra~Heart Chakra

Anahata chakra symbolizes the consciousness of...

Color: Green/Pink

Element: Air

Location: Chest, heart, cardiac plexus

Sensory Function: Touch

Endocrine Gland: Thymus

Corresponding Flower: Wild Rose

Sanskrit Name : Anahata-unstricken

5th Chakra~Throat Chakra

Color: Light blue

Element: Ether

Location: Throat, pharyngeal plexus

Sensory Function: Hearing

Endocrine Gland: Thyroid

Corresponding Flower: Desert Larkspur

Sanskrit Name: Visuddha-pure

6th Chakra~Third Eye Chakra

Color: Violet/Purple

Element: Radium

Location: Forehead, brow, carotid plexus, third eye

Sensory Function: Sixth sense, transcended awareness

Endocrine Gland: Pituitary

Corresponding Flower: Aster

Sanskrit Name: Ajna-authority, command and unlimited power

7th Chakra~Crown Chakra

Sahasrara chakra

Color: White/Gold

Element: Magentum

Location: Cerebral cortex

Sensory Function: Cosmic awareness

Endocrine Gland: Pineal

Corresponding Flower: Saguaro

Sanskrit Name:Sahasrara-thousand-petaled and dwelling place without support

Sanskrit is an ancient Indo-Aryan language and the classical language of India which is still used today.

photo from Coon

photo from Equine Wellness Group

photo from SUKI REIKI

Related articles:

What's on Your Mind

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s